• 比特币ETF和CME期货是零售投资者流入的大赢家

  • 根据CoinShares的数据,投资者向顶级加密货币基金投入了14.65亿美元,其中ProShares获得了12.37亿美元,其中14.5亿美元进入了比特币基金。另外,根据商品期货交易委员会(CFTC)周日公布的最新周度数据,在总部位于芝加哥的CME集团CME-0.3%的比特币期货散户持有的 “未平仓合约”–被绑在期货合约上的资本–从2631个增加到5136个的历史高点,增加了95%。

    这些合约的每份价值相当于5个比特币–截至周二收盘时约为32.13万美元–散户投资者流入这些合约的净资本增加了1.83亿美元。CME的加密货币期货合约的价值在所有交易商群体中增加了15.8亿美元(+38%)。其中13.1亿美元流向了比特币期货,其余2.7亿美元流向了CME以太坊期货和CME微型比特币期货。此外,CME加密货币期货交易量在周四达到峰值,超过92亿美元,使CME成为当天交易量最大的衍生品交易所之一(如果不是)。

    与年初相比,期货市场反映出商业交易者的风险敞口增加,其中包括企业和比特币ETF发行商,如ProShares,以及零售交易者。随着价差中OI的大量增加,一个实体既买入又卖出该数量的合约–也就是说,他们通过所谓的套利交易’做市’:在现货或现金市场买入商品,在期货市场卖出。美国银行甚至一小部分散户自年初以来增加了他们的股票卖出兴趣,而对冲基金在CME急剧减少了他们的比特币多头头寸。

    虽然CFTC周日发布的数据涵盖了截至10月19日星期二的活动,但截至10月22日星期五的最新CME数据显示,OI比周二的总量增加了3515份合同–又是一个历史新高。下周的CFTC数据将揭示哪种类型的交易商群体占据了OI增长的绝大部分,但可以肯定的是,商业交易商大幅增加了他们的多头头寸,对冲基金参与了所有卖出头寸的至少60%。

    分析

    最重要的启示是,BITO的推出促使散户投资者采取了机会主义行动。他们在CME BTC期货持有量中的份额曾连续7个月下降,但上周BITO的推出引发了CME期货需求的转折,创下了历史纪录。零售商驱动的CME BTC OI的增加,是在商业公司最近几周抢夺的大约4000份BTC多头合约之外的。

    为什么会有这样的突然转变?熟悉CME比特币期货的投资者明白,BITO ETF的推出为更多加密货币ETF的发行打开了大门。这意味着不仅会有对比特币风险的需求,也会有对CME比特币期货合约的需求。在某些方面,参与上周涨势的散户投资者和机构只是买了一种热门商品,知道会有更多的买家–例如新的ETF发行者–竞相抬高该商品的价格。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Bitcoin ETFs and CME Futures are the big winners in terms of retail investor inflows

  • Investors poured $1,465 million into the top crypto funds, according to CoinShares, with ProShares capturing $1,237 million of the total, $1.45 billion of which went into bitcoin funds. Separately, according to the latest Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) weekly data released on Sunday, the number of bitcoin futures retail investors hold at the Chicago-based CME Group CME -0.3 percent as “open interest” – capital tied up in futures contracts – increased 95 percent from 2,631 to an all-time high of 5,136.

    With each of those contracts worth the equivalent of five bitcoins – or about $321,300 as of Tuesday’s close – retail investors’ net capital inflow into these contracts increased by $183 million. The value of the CME’s crypto futures contracts increased by $1.58 billion (+38 percent) across all trader groups. $1.31 billion of that total went to bitcoin futures, with the remaining $270 million going to CME ether futures and CME micro-bitcoin futures. Furthermore, CME crypto futures trading volume peaked at more than $9.2 billion on Thursday, making the CME one of, if not the, largest derivatives exchange by volume that day.

    When compared to the beginning of the year, the futures market reflects increased exposure by commercial traders, which include corporations and bitcoin ETF issuers such as ProShares, as well as retail traders. With a large increase in OI in spread, an entity is both buying and selling that number of contracts – that is, they are’making markets’ through what is known as the carry trade: buying the commodity in the spot or cash market and selling it on the futures market. US banks and even a small portion of retail traders have increased their share selling interest since the beginning of the year, while hedge funds have sharply reduced their long bitcoin positions at the CME.

    While the CFTC’s Sunday data release covers activity through Tuesday, October 19, the latest CME data through Friday, October 22 shows that OI increased by 3,515 contracts over Tuesday’s total – another record high. The CFTC data for next week will reveal which type of trader group captured the lion’s share of that OI increase, but it is safe to assume that commercial traders increased their long positions significantly and that hedge funds participated in at least 60% of all sell positions.

    Analysis

    The most important takeaway is that the BITO launch prompted retail investors to act opportunistically. Their share of CME BTC futures holdings had been on a seven-month decline, but the BITO launch last week triggered a record-breaking demand U-turn for CME futures. The retail-driven increase in CME BTC OI is in addition to the roughly 4,000 long BTC contracts that commercial firms have snatched up in recent weeks.

    Why the sudden shift? Investors familiar with CME bitcoin futures understand that the BITO ETF launch opens the door for more crypto ETF issuance. This means that not only will there be demand for bitcoin exposure, but also for CME bitcoin futures contracts. In some ways, the retail investors and institutions who participated in last week’s rally simply bought a hot commodity knowing that there will be many more buyers – for example, new ETF issuers – bidding up the price of that commodity.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0