• 区块链技术有可能使小额支付成为现实

  • 随着数字钱包和加密货币使用的增加,将对小额支付的新用例进行调查和开发。

    我最近看到了Marc Andreessen在2014年发表的关于比特币(BTC)的文章。在许多方面,它是有远见的(不奇怪)。我在这个行业已经有四年了,我的大部分注意力都集中在区块链的社会影响上。令我震惊的是,在2014年,在比特币还没有任何机构存在–甚至对这项新技术的流行理解–安德森就能勾勒出它对未来的潜在经济和社会影响。

    我想在他写完这篇文章近8年后,讨论他文章的一个主题–小额支付。我将看看区块链如何帮助改造小额支付,不仅允许需要解决方案的企业的某些方面实现货币化,而且还能帮助社会上最脆弱的人。

    微额支付

    微额支付并不是一个新的想法。自20世纪90年代中期以来,小额支付已经在不同程度上得到了普及。微额支付是指价值低于某个阈值的交易。重要的是,低于这个门槛,交易费就会成为总交易额的重要部分,因此,不具有成本效益。另一个重要的区别是,由于涉及的货币金额小,小额支付仅指涉及非实物商品的数字交易。任何额外的处理和运输成本都可能导致原始交易价值的百倍增长,使其完全失去意义。

    信用卡公司为商户提供了各种收费的定价计划。这些计划通常包括每笔交易的一次性收费,以及从中扣除的百分比收费。毫不奇怪,这些信息不是由信用卡公司免费提供的;而是由第三方公布的,他们把这些费率作为一项服务提供给商家。让我们来看看在这种情况下,商家会被收取多少小额支付费用。

    我们做如下假设。

    我们发现最低的费用是交易额的1.29%,没有一次性的费用。

    因为(大多数)法定货币的最小构件是总额的1/100–即0.01美元–这将是信用卡公司收取的最低费用,不管它是否高于1.29%。

    下图显示了交易费的比例与交易额的关系。例如,0.01美元的交易会产生100%的费用,而0.10美元的交易 “只 “会产生10%的费用。自然,这显示了通过这些支付平台进行小额支付交易的不合理性。

    区块链技术有一个解决方案。

    然而,现在还有另一种选择。由于各种原因,区块链技术是小额支付的理想解决方案。它为更快的数字支付提供了基础设施,更重要的是,比特币和以太币(ETH)的最小支付单位都小得惊人,如下表所示。

    此外,加密货币钱包可以很容易地嵌入任何数字设备中,如智能手机、笔记本电脑或物联网设备。而且,虽然不同网络和场合的费用可能有很大差异,但许多协议没有费用,可以低至几分钱。

    最后但并非最不重要的是,还有用户隐私问题。由于区块链的非对称加密,付款人在付款时只暴露了他们的公共地址,这对试图入侵他们钱包的人来说几乎没有任何信息。不幸的是,信用卡交易就不是这样了,它要求付款人提供他们的整个信用卡号码,并希望支付平台有适当的安全性。

    微额支付的现实世界应用

    现在技术方面的问题已经解决了,只剩下一个问题。我可以用百万分之一的美元得到任何东西吗?我不确定一百万分之一,但小额支付有很多应用。这里有几个例子。

    她不会购买第三份订阅,尽管她只愿意为那篇文章付费。从杂志社的角度来看,这篇文章已经存在,为什么不向别人收费呢?爱丽丝和杂志社都可以通过接受小额支付来最大化他们的经济效用。

    数字版权、版税和推荐人。和前面的情况一样,不需要定义版权、版税或推荐。与当今复杂的解决方案相比,小额支付为所涉及的即时结算提供了一个相对简单的机制,实际上对每个人的收费金额没有最低限制。

    物联网交易。这个用例非常具有前瞻性,但它很可能早晚会变得像电灯开关一样平凡和琐碎。到目前为止,物联网只达到了其全部潜力的一小部分。这种延迟的一个原因可能是缺乏一个简单的、易于实施的货币化模式。区块链上的小额支付可能是一个解决方案。考虑一下你的汽车可能收集的所有数据,从路况到交通等等。分享大量用户实时收集的数据对交通规划和道路维护可能非常有用。因此,为什么不为它付费呢?区块链的附加值是一个改进的机制,用于匿名数据和保护用户隐私–这是一个再次获胜的组合。当然,这可以适用于任何其他物联网设备,从智能电表到家用电器以及其他。

    社会影响。这是这个清单上最简单的用例(显然也是我最喜欢的)。区块链上的小额支付有可能在两个方面起到革命性的作用。首先是捐款人可以很容易地建立接收资金的账户,允许直接向他们捐款,消除所有的中间人和管理费用。说到这里,必须注意的是,这一功能是一把双刃剑,可能被证明是其主要弱点。欺诈者为了引诱捐赠者而创建假账户也同样简单。为了确保并向捐赠者提供更好的能见度,将需要进行评级和审计,类似于目前根据多个标准对慈善机构进行评级的在线服务(例如,慈善领航员、智能捐赠、非营利组织理事会和其他)。此外,由于最低捐款额将不再是一个问题,我们可能会看到小额捐款。如果一个国家的人均国民总收入低于1025美元,世界银行将其归类为 “低收入”。换句话说,这相当于每天的工资低于3美元。根据2020年的数据,有27个低收入国家。微额支付可能是向这些国家有需要的人捐赠资金的一个很好的机制,但必须仔细监测它们是否有欺诈。我相信你可以看到,如果管理得当,这可以导致更有效的捐赠和更直接的影响。

    近年来,小额支付已经失去了一些其最初的光泽。虽然这个概念领先于它的时代,但技术的滞后却阻碍了它成为现实。Andreessen在强调区块链改造小额支付的能力方面是正确的,也是革命性的。就使用案例和潜力而言,我在这里只看到了表面。

    企业可能会变得更有效率,并能够将其产品的更大一部分货币化。直接和个人援助,不使用中介,有可能改变或使整个社区摆脱经济萧条。安德烈森八年前的设想值得称赞–区块链可能是世界一直在等待的新鲜空气的气息。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Blockchain technology has the potential to make micropayments a reality

  • As the use of digital wallets and cryptocurrencies grows, new use cases for micropayments will be investigated and developed.

    I recently came across Marc Andreessen’s 2014 article on Bitcoin (BTC). It is, in many ways, visionary (no surprise). I’ve been in the industry for four years, with the majority of my attention focused on the social impact of blockchain. It astounds me that in 2014, before Bitcoin had any institutional presence — or even a popular understanding of this new technology — Andreessen was able to outline its potential economic and social impact for the future.

    I’d like to discuss one of his article’s topics, micropayments, nearly eight years after he wrote it. I’ll look at how blockchain can help transform micropayments, allowing not only the monetization of certain aspects of businesses that need a solution, but also assisting society’s most vulnerable.

    Micropayments

    Micropayments are not a novel idea. Since the mid-1990s, micropayments have grown in popularity to varying degrees. Micropayments are transactions with a value less than a certain threshold. Importantly, below that threshold, the transaction fee becomes a significant portion of the total transaction value and, as a result, is not cost effective. Another important distinction is that, due to the small monetary amounts involved, micropayments only refer to digital transactions involving non-tangible goods. Any additional handling and shipping costs could result in a hundredfold increase in the original transaction value, rendering it completely irrelevant.

    Credit card companies provide merchants with a variety of pricing plans for the fees they charge. These plans typically include a lump sum charge per transaction as well as a percentage charge deducted from it. Not surprisingly, this information is not freely available from the card companies; rather, it is published by third parties who compare these rates as a service to merchants. Let’s look at what a merchant would be charged for a micropayment in that context.

    We make the following assumptions:

    The lowest fee we found was 1.29 percent of the transaction value, with no lump sum fee.

    Because the smallest building block of (most) fiat currencies is 1/100 of the total — i.e., $0.01 — this would be the minimum fee charged by the credit card company, regardless of whether it is higher than 1.29 percent.

    The chart below shows the proportion of the transaction fee as a function of transaction value. A $0.01 transaction, for example, incurs a fee of 100%, whereas a $0.10 transaction incurs a fee of “only” 10%. Naturally, this demonstrates the irrationality of conducting micropayment transactions through these payment platforms.

    Blockchain technology has a solution.

    However, there is now another option. For a variety of reasons, blockchain technology is the ideal solution for micropayments. It provides the infrastructure for faster digital payments, and, more importantly, the minimum payment unit of both Bitcoin and Ether (ETH) is incredibly small, as shown in the table below:

    Furthermore, crypto wallets can be easily embedded in any digital device, such as a smartphone, laptop, or Internet of Things device. And, while fees can vary greatly between networks and occasions, many protocols have no fees and can be as low as a fraction of a cent.

    Last but not least, there is the issue of user privacy. Because of blockchain’s asymmetric encryption, the payer only exposes their public address when paying, which provides almost no information to someone attempting to hack their wallets. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for a credit card transaction, which requires the payer to provide their entire credit card number and hope that the payment platform is properly secured.

    Real-world Applications for Micropayments

    Now that the technological aspect has been addressed, there is only one question left: Can I get anything for a millionth of a dollar? I’m not sure about a millionth, but micropayments have many applications. Here are a few examples:

    She will not purchase a third subscription, despite the fact that she is willing to pay only for that article. From the magazine’s point of view, the article already exists, so why not charge someone for it? Alice and the magazine can both maximize their economic utility by accepting micropayments.

    Digital copyrights, royalties, and referrals: As in the previous case, there is no need to define copyrights, royalties, or referrals. Micropayments, in contrast to the complicated solutions that exist today, provide a relatively simple mechanism for the immediate settlements involved, with practically no minimum limit to the amount charged per each.

    IoT transactions: This use case is very forward-thinking, but it will most likely become as mundane and trivial as a light switch sooner rather than later. To date, IoT has only reached a fraction of its full potential. One reason for this delay could be the lack of a simple, easy-to-implement monetization model. Micropayments on the blockchain may be the solution. Consider all of the data that your car may collect, from road conditions to traffic and more. Sharing data collected in real time by large numbers of users could be extremely useful for traffic planning and road maintenance. As a result, why not pay for it? The added value of blockchain is an improved mechanism for anonymizing data and protecting user privacy — a winning combination once again. This could, of course, work with any other IoT device, from smart meters to home appliances and beyond.

    Social impact: This is the simplest use case on this list (and, obviously, my favorite).Micropayments on the blockchain have the potential to be revolutionary in two ways. The first is that donation recipients can easily set up accounts for receiving funds, allowing donations to be made directly to them, eliminating all intermediaries and overhead costs. Having said that, it is important to note that this feature is a double-edged sword that could prove to be its major weakness. It would be just as simple for fraudsters to create bogus accounts in order to entice donors. In order to ensure and provide better visibility to donors, rating and auditing will be required, similar to current online services that rate charities on multiple criteria (e.g., Charity Navigator, Smart Giving, Council of Nonprofits, and others). Furthermore, because a minimum donation amount will no longer be an issue, we may see micro-donations. The World Bank classifies a country as “low income” if its gross national income per capita is less than $1,025 USD. To put it another way, this equates to a daily wage of less than $3. There are 27 low-income countries according to 2020 data. Micropayments could be an excellent mechanism for donating funds to people in need in those countries, but they must be carefully monitored for fraud. I believe you can see how, if properly managed, this could lead to more efficient giving and a more direct impact.

    Micropayments have lost some of their initial luster in recent years. While the concept was ahead of its time, technology lagged and prevented it from becoming a reality. Andreessen was correct and revolutionary in emphasizing blockchain’s ability to transform micropayments. In terms of use cases and potential, I have only scratched the surface here.

    Businesses may become more efficient and able to monetize a greater portion of their offerings. Direct and personal assistance, without the use of an intermediary, has the potential to transform or lift entire communities out of economic depression. Andreessen deserves credit for his vision eight years ago — blockchain could be the breath of fresh air the world has been waiting for.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0