• 布洛克-皮尔斯声称负责萨尔瓦多的 “官方 “比特币代表团的工作

  • 比特币基金会的负责人Brock Pierce认为他代表了比特币行业。相当数量的比特币人不同意。

    比特币的一个奇怪之处在于,由于它是一个去中心化的网络,在任何 “官方 “职位上为它游说是相当困难的。比特币没有CEO,网络的假名发起人已经失踪了十年,其用户也没有共同的目标。

    比特币基金会主席、Block.one的前联合创始人Brock Pierce声称本周带领一个 “比特币大使官方代表团 “前往萨尔瓦多,这是个有趣的消息。

    皮尔斯代表数十万匿名用户(其中很少有人宣布他是他们的代表)扛起了这面旗帜,在萨尔瓦多驻美国大使米莱娜-马约尔加组织的旅行中,把它牢牢地插在了这个中美洲国家,该国总统纳伊布-布克尔最近宣布比特币为合法货币。

    皮尔斯6月16日在推特上说,他 “非常激动地带领这个比特币大使官方代表团前往萨尔瓦多,向政府介绍比特币、区块链和技术如何为他们国家的每个人创造一个更光明的未来”。

    皮尔斯表示,他的旅行不是第一次 “正式 “访问比特币,但这是Covid封锁开始后第一次正式访问萨尔瓦多。

    他对 “官方 “一词的使用在网上引起了很多反感。皮尔斯说,它暗指 “一个由生态系统成员组成的官方正式代表团,与萨尔瓦多政府会面”。

    因为反弹没有消失,皮尔斯最终道歉,称这是 “由于人们的反应而选择的一个糟糕的词语”。”我们都可以成为布道者、拥护者和大使,”他坚持说。

    今天,皮尔斯在推特上发布了一张他和布克尔总统在纽约出版的西班牙语报纸《Noticia》第一页的照片,加上第八页关于他的旅行的头版报道,这更激怒了他的推特粉丝们。

    当地一家同名报纸La Noticia SV也报道了皮尔斯的访问,但与皮尔斯声称成为头版新闻的报纸不同。截至发稿时,皮尔斯无法置评。

    在萨尔瓦多的酒店门厅里,参加了与皮尔斯会面的Nekti公司首席执行官Justin Newton在推特上说,他拿起了一份封面上有皮尔斯的Noticia,第8页上有相关的文章。

    皮尔斯在2014年当选为比特币基金会的负责人并不是没有争议的。据称,基金会的一些成员退出,以抗议他 “过去的行为,包括毒品和性行为不端”。

    在2000年破产之前,皮尔斯,一个前儿童电视明星,是数字娱乐网络的CEO。据员工称,皮尔斯在该视频制作公司骚扰员工,要求他们在未成年时发生性关系。

    皮尔斯拒绝了这些指控;据路透社报道,其中两起诉讼被驳回,而据说皮尔斯支付了21,000美元来解决另一起诉讼。

    皮尔斯在2020年参加了美国总统竞选。不幸的是,他被美国 “正式 “总统乔-拜登击败了。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Brock Pierce claims to be in charge of the ‘Official’ Bitcoin Delegation in El Salvador

  • Brock Pierce, the head of the Bitcoin Foundation, believes he represents the Bitcoin industry. A sizable number of Bitcoiners disagree.

    One of the strange things about Bitcoin is that, because it is a decentralized network, lobbying for it in any “official” position is quite difficult. Bitcoin has no CEO, the network’s pseudonymous originator has been missing for a decade, and its users have no common goal.

    Brock Pierce, the chairman of the Bitcoin Foundation and a former co-founder of Block.one, claims to have led a “official delegation of Bitcoin ambassadors” to El Salvador this week, which is interesting news.

    Pierce carried the flag on behalf of hundreds of thousands of anonymous users, few of whom have declared him their representative, and planted it firmly in the Central American country, where President Nayib Bukele recently declared Bitcoin to be legal tender, on a trip organized by El Salvadoran Ambassador to the US, Milena Mayorga.

    Pierce tweeted on June 16 that he was “very thrilled to lead this official delegation of Bitcoin ambassadors to El Salvador to educate the government on how Bitcoin, Blockchain, and technology can create a brighter future for everyone in their nation.”

    Pierce stated that his travel was not the first “official” Bitcoin visit, but it was the first official visit to El Salvador since the Covid lockdowns began.

    His usage of the word “official” caused a lot of backlash online. It alluded to “an official formal delegation of ecosystem members to meet with the administration of El Salvador,” according to Pierce.

    Because the backlash didn’t go away, Pierce eventually apologized, calling it a “poor choice of words due to the reaction of people.” “We can all be evangelists, champions, and ambassadors,” he maintained.

    Pierce enraged his Twitter followers even more today when he tweeted a photo of him and President Bukele on the first page of Noticia, a Spanish-language newspaper published in New York, coupled with a front-page report on his trip on page 8.

    Pierce’s visit was covered by a local newspaper with the same name, La Noticia SV, but it was not the same as the one where Pierce claimed to have made front-page news. Pierce was unavailable for comment at the time of publication.

    In the foyer of his hotel in El Salvador, Justin Newton, CEO of Nekti, who attended the meetings with Pierce, tweeted that he picked up a copy of a Noticia with Pierce on the front and the item in question on page 8 with the article in question.

    Pierce’s election to the Bitcoin Foundation’s head in 2014 was not without controversy. Several members of the foundation quit in protest of his “past behavior that included drugs and sexual misconduct,” according to claims.

    Before it went bankrupt in 2000, Pierce, a former child TV star, was the CEO of the Digital Entertainment Network. Pierce allegedly harassed employees at the video production company for sex when they were minors, according to employees.

    Pierce has rejected these allegations; according to Reuters, two of the lawsuits were dismissed, while Pierce reportedly paid $21,000 to settle another.

    Pierce ran for President of the United States in 2020. Unfortunately, he was defeated by Joe Biden, the “official” President of the United States.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0