• 加密货币公司对CySEC监管表示赞赏,但挑战依然存在

  • 在经历了十多年和几个独角兽之后,大多数加密货币行业仍然在寻找一个受欢迎的司法管辖区,在那里他们可以被承认并作为加密货币服务提供商运营。然而,事情正在发生变化。

    近年来,许多较小的司法管辖区已经引入了针对加密货币的法规,承认该领域的公司为加密货币服务提供商。塞浦路斯是通往欧洲的金融服务公司的热门基地,是最近发布的关于加密货币公司注册和授权的政策声明。

    塞浦路斯证券和交易委员会(CySEC)将在新的框架下承认加密货币公司为加密服务提供商。

    “CySEC已经开始研究监管加密货币的方向,这是一个令人鼓舞的消息,它应该具有将更多公司纳入其保护范围的效果,”FXOpen的销售主管Natalia Zakharova告诉Finance Magnates。”因此,我们相信它将对该行业产生积极影响”。

    其他行业参与者也对此举感到高兴,正如gate.io的CMO Marie Tatibouet所言。”这非常好”。

    她还表示,由于其他司法管辖区围绕加密货币的监管不确定性,许多加密货币公司现在将更愿意将其总部迁往塞浦路斯。

    加入欧盟

    塞浦路斯监管机构将根据新实施的规则,根据其业务结构对加密货币公司进行分类。这些规则也将遵守欧盟的AMLD5准则。

    “CySec法规最重要的方面之一是根据塞浦路斯修订的AMLD5法,将加密资产企业纳入欧盟反洗钱立法的范围,”Tatibouet补充说。

    “根据这项法律,加密货币交易所和托管人首次受到欧盟反洗钱规则的约束。我相信这是一个有利于加密货币的步骤,因为它是实现商业合法性的关键一步。”

    CySEC被称为金融服务行业进入欧盟的 “门户”。它是数十家经纪人和其他金融公司的所在地,这些公司利用其塞浦路斯投资公司(CIF)执照在整个欧洲经济区(EEA)运营。

    “我们通过CySEC创新中心主动与加密货币企业接触,目的是支持创新企业,并与新兴金融技术的供应商接触,”CySEC前主席Demetra Kalogerou说。

    一些困难

    尽管有许多好处,但一些要求可能很难让加密货币公司满足。他们必须首先雇用四名当地董事。此外,公司必须为新框架下的授权支付10,000欧元,以及5,000欧元的更新费。

    正如Apifiny的创始人兼首席执行官Haohan Xu所指出的,新规则并不一定意味着加密货币公司将开始迁移到地中海岛屿。

    “如果塞浦路斯政府或其主要监管机构CySEC制定立法,将有许多’附加条件’,”徐说。”塞浦路斯的大多数许可证,如经纪商或VASP许可证,允许任命最多四个塞浦路斯人作为董事。此外,经纪交易商必须雇用一名会计、一名法律代表和一名秘书向塞浦路斯证券委员会交付文件。 在公司雇用自己的员工之前,这就是总共7名员工。”

    “与其他司法管辖区相比,在塞浦路斯申请执照的公司的种子资金也非常高。例如,公司资产负债表上的现金部分必须是75万欧元”。

    他还表示,离岸管辖区百慕大和开曼群岛为加密货币公司提供了更有利的监管框架。”百慕大有自己的监管交易所,BMA(百慕大金融管理局)已经为合格的数字资产上市提供了交易所。他补充说:”百慕大还为资本有限且在岛上占地面积较小的初创项目提供了分层注册方案。

    然而,塞浦路斯的欧盟成员国身份仍然是吸引加密货币公司的最有吸引力的标准。

    塞浦路斯不是靠自己的力量

    另一方面,CySEC并不是欧盟第一个实施加密货币具体框架的金融监管机构。几年前,直布罗陀和马耳他也颁布了类似的规则,尽管最初的热情很高,但它们无法吸引许多加密货币公司。

    “塞浦路斯试图提供的警笛声是数字资产的欧盟护照,”Epiphany首席执行官说。”马耳他和直布罗陀都有相同的欧盟地位,但这种地位在不断变化。法国和德国已经真正引领了潮流;这两个国家都建立了加密货币银行和经纪商法规,而行业也做出了回应。”

    “然而,随着数字资产行业的扩大,管辖权并不是最紧迫的问题。相反,市场的开放性和对传统王道的监督是重要因素”。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Cryptocurrency Firms Appreciate CySEC Regulation, but Challenges Remain

  • After more than a decade and several unicorns, the majority of the cryptocurrency industry is still looking for a welcoming jurisdiction where they can be recognized and operate as crypto service providers. However, things are changing.

    Many smaller jurisdictions have introduced crypto-specific regulations in recent years, recognizing the companies in the space as crypto service providers. Cyprus, a popular base for European-bound financial services firms, is the most recent to issue a policy statement regarding the registration and authorization of crypto firms.

    The Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) will recognize cryptocurrency companies as crypto service providers under the new framework.

    “It is encouraging news that the CySEC has begun to look into the direction of regulating cryptocurrencies, and it should have the effect of bringing more companies under their umbrella,” Natalia Zakharova, Head of Sales at FXOpen, told Finance Magnates. “As a result, we believe it will have a positive impact on the industry.”

    Other industry players are also pleased with the move, as stated by Marie Tatibouet, CMO at gate.io: “This is very good.”

    She also stated that many crypto companies will now prefer to relocate their headquarters to Cyprus due to regulatory uncertainty surrounding cryptocurrencies in other jurisdictions.

    Accession to the EU

    The Cypriot regulator will categorize crypto companies based on their business structure under the newly implemented rules. The rules will also adhere to the European Union’s AMLD5 guidelines.

    “One of the most important aspects of the CySec regulations is the inclusion of crypto-asset businesses within the scope of EU AML legislation under the amended AMLD5 Law in Cyprus,” Tatibouet added.

    “For the first time, crypto exchanges and custodians were subject to EU anti-money laundering rules under this law. I believe this is a crypto-friendly step because it is a critical step toward business legitimacy.”

    The CySEC is known as the financial services industry’s “gateway” to the European Union. It is home to dozens of brokers and other financial firms that use their Cyprus Investment Firm (CIF) license to operate across the European Economic Area (EEA).

    “Our proactive engagement with crypto businesses through the CySEC Innovation Hub, with the goal of supporting innovative businesses and engaging with providers of emerging financial technologies,” said Demetra Kalogerou, former CySEC Chair.

    Some Difficulties

    Despite the numerous benefits, some requirements may be difficult for crypto companies to meet. They must first hire four local directors. Furthermore, companies must pay EUR 10,000 for authorization under the new framework, as well as EUR 5,000 in renewal fees.

    As Apifiny’s founder and CEO, Haohan Xu, pointed out, the new rules do not necessarily imply that crypto companies will begin migrating to the Mediterranean island.

    “If the Cyprus government or its main regulator, CySEC, creates the legislation, there will be many ‘strings attached,’” Xu said. “Most licenses in Cyprus, such as a broker-dealer or VASP license, allow for the appointment of up to four Cypriots as directors. In addition, the broker-dealer must hire an accountant, a legal representative, and a secretary to deliver documents to CySec. Before a company hires its own staff, that is a total of seven employees.”

    “When compared to other jurisdictions, the seed money for a company seeking a license in Cyprus is also very high. For example, the cash component on the company’s balance sheet must be 750,000 EUR.”

    He also stated that offshore jurisdictions Bermuda and The Cayman Islands provide much more favorable regulatory frameworks for cryptocurrency firms. “Bermuda has its own regulated exchange, which the BMA (Bermuda Monetary Authority) has made available for qualified digital asset listings. Bermuda also provides a tiered registration package for start-up projects with limited capital and a small footprint on the island,” he adds.

    However, Cyprus’s European Union membership remains the most appealing criterion for attracting crypto firms.

    Cyprus Isn’t on Its Own

    The CySEC, on the other hand, is not the first financial regulator in the EU to implement a crypto-specific framework. Similar rules were enacted in Gibraltar and Malta years ago, and despite initial enthusiasm, they were unable to attract many crypto companies.

    “The siren call that Cyprus is attempting to offer is the EU passport of digital assets,” said Epiphany CEO. “Both Malta and Gibraltar have the same EU status, but that status is constantly changing. France and Germany have truly led the way; both have established crypto banking and broker-dealer regulations, and the industry has responded.”

    “However, jurisdiction is not the most pressing issue as the digital asset industry expands. Rather, market openness and oversight of traditional kingpins are important factors.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0