• 灰度投资公司正在推进现货比特币ETF的计划

  • 据消息人士透露,灰度投资公司正准备在未来一周提交申请,将世界上最大的比特币基金转换为现货比特币ETF。

    Grayscale已经计划在美国证券交易委员会(SEC)批准基于期货的比特币ETF的竞争对手后,向该机构提交申请。这在周五晚些时候得到了该机构的批准。

    比特币作为一种资产类别的接受度

    据消息人士称,该申请将开始为期75天的审查期,如果获得批准,将是使比特币作为资产类别合法化的重要一步。比特币最近接近了历史高点,价格超过了60,000美元,在面对中国对比特币和其他加密货币的禁令等若干挫折时表现出了顽强的毅力。

    加密货币投资者仍然不满意。

    虽然比特币期货ETF的首次亮相被认为是一个重要的里程碑,但一些加密货币投资者仍然不满意,认为这是一个不充分的步骤,因为ETF将与在芝加哥商业交易所交易的衍生品合约而不是实际的比特币挂钩。另一方面,灰度的现货比特币ETF申请,代表了一种由比特币支持的投资,而不是与之相关的衍生品。

    将美国证券交易委员会放在现货上

    灰度投资公司目前通过其GBTC信托基金控制着世界上相当大的一部分比特币。截至上周,GBTC掌管着387亿美元的资产。该公司已经成为加密货币投资的先驱,在2017年1月首次申请了ETF。

    然而,在证券交易委员会表示对比特币市场不完全适应后,它撤回了申请。据消息人士称,灰度目前的申请被视为试图迫使美国证券交易委员会出手,其基本信息是,如果他们对比特币期货感到满意,监管机构就应该对相关市场感到满意。

    美国证券交易委员会仍然可以选择推迟或拒绝Grayscale的申请,基于它可以选择的选项。Grayscale的首席执行官Michael Sonnenshein也公开批评了SEC对基于期货的ETF的偏好,称其目光短浅,对投资者有害。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Grayscale Investments is moving forward with plans for a spot Bitcoin ETF

  • Grayscale Investments is preparing to file an application to convert the world’s largest bitcoin fund into a spot bitcoin ETF in the coming week, according to sources.

    Grayscale had already planned to file an application with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) once the agency approved competitors for a futures-based bitcoin ETF. That was approved by the agency late on Friday.

    Bitcoin’s Acceptance as an Asset Class

    The application, according to the source, will begin a 75-day review period and, if approved, will be a significant step toward legitimizing Bitcoin as an asset class. Bitcoin has recently approached all-time highs as the price surpassed $60,000, demonstrating resilience in the face of several setbacks such as China’s ban on bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.

    Crypto investors are still dissatisfied.

    While the debut of the Bitcoin futures ETF is regarded as a significant milestone, some crypto investors remain unsatisfied and regard it as an inadequate step because the ETF would be linked to derivative contracts traded on the Chicago Mercantile Exchange rather than actual Bitcoin. Grayscale’s spot bitcoin ETF application, on the other hand, represents an investment backed by Bitcoins rather than the derivatives linked to it.

    Putting the SEC on the Spot

    Grayscale Investments currently controls a sizable portion of the world’s bitcoin through its GBTC trust. As of last week, GBTC was in charge of $38,7 billion in assets. The company has become a pioneer in cryptocurrency investing, having first filed for an ETF in January 2017.

    However, it withdrew the application after the Securities and Exchange Commission indicated that it was not completely comfortable with the Bitcoin market. According to the source, Grayscale’s current application is seen as an attempt to force the SEC’s hand, with the underlying message that if they are comfortable with bitcoin futures, the regulators should be comfortable with the underlying market.

    The SEC could still choose to delay or reject Grayscale’s application based on the options available to it. Michael Sonnenshein, CEO of Grayscale, has also publicly criticized the SEC’s preference for futures-based ETFs, calling it shortsighted and harmful to investors.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0