• 数百人签署了一份请愿书,敦促财务会计标准委员会(FASB)改变比特币的会计准则

  • 财务会计标准委员会收到了数百封受微策略公司启发的信件,敦促重新考虑美国的会计准则,以适应持有比特币的公司。

    财务会计准则委员会收到了数百封受微策略公司启发的信件,敦促重新考虑美国的会计准则,以适应持有比特币的公司。

    “一个实体的财务报表与它的财务状况和经营成果的经济现实之间的这种脱节造成了混乱,未能为投资者、分析师和公众提供他们所需的信息,以对一个实体的当前和未来的利弊做出明智的评估,”微策略公司最近写给财务会计准则委员会(FASB)。

    不属于投资公司的公司目前将比特币作为无形资产报告。这意味着比特币以其历史成本记录在资产负债表上,然后在其价值下降时进行减值。然而,如果比特币的价格上涨,其价值就不能被向上修正。

    值得注意的是,FASB不会根据收到的信件数量来改变规则,但数量表明持有比特币储备的企业和其他相关方有明确的共识。目前的规定未能为投资者提供有关公司财务前景的明确信息,特别是在涉及到比特币的时候。

    四大会计师事务所、美国注册会计师协会的一个小组、一些投资者团体和个别企业都是写信给FASB敦促他们采取行动的人。这些要求是针对FASB要求对其长期议程进行反馈而提出的。意见的截止日期是9月22日。

    “我们建议FASB立即开始一个关于数字资产会计的项目;等到数字资产在财务报告中变得普遍时,可能会使FASB远远落后,他们可能永远也追不上,”关注投资者联盟写道。

    美国财务会计准则委员会此前拒绝了修订比特币会计准则的要求,声称大多数公司没有大量持有比特币,如果他们接受比特币作为支付手段,他们会立即将其转换为现金。然而,一些大公司,如MicroStrategy和Square,已经增加了他们的比特币投资,不打算出售。

    微策略公司首席执行官迈克尔-赛勒(Michael Saylor)在9月初宣布,该公司在第三季度期间以大约2.429亿美元的现金额外购买了5050个比特币。

    自2020年8月以来,微策略公司已经购买并持有约114,042枚比特币,总购买价格为31.6亿美元,平均每枚比特币价格为27,713美元,包括费用和开支。该公司拥有的比特币比地球上任何其他上市公司都多。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Hundreds of people have signed a petition urging the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) to change the accounting standards for bitcoin

  • The Financial Accounting Standards Board received hundreds of letters inspired by MicroStrategy urging reconsideration of US accounting standards to accommodate companies that hold Bitcoin.

    The Financial Accounting Standards Board received hundreds of letters inspired by MicroStrategy urging that US accounting standards be reconsidered to accommodate companies that hold Bitcoin.

    “This disconnect between an entity’s financial statements and the economic reality of its financial condition and results of operations creates confusion and fails to provide investors, analysts, and the general public with the information they need to make an informed assessment of an entity’s current and future pros and cons,” MicroStrategy recently wrote to the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB).

    Companies that are not investment firms currently report Bitcoin as intangible assets. This means that Bitcoin is recorded on balance sheets at its historical cost and then impaired if its value falls. However, if the price of Bitcoin rises, the value cannot be revised upward.

    Notably, FASB does not change rules based on the volume of letters received, but the volume indicates a clear consensus among businesses holding Bitcoin in reserve and other interested parties: Current regulations fail to provide investors with clear information about a company’s financial prospects, particularly when it comes to Bitcoin.

    The big four accounting firms, an American Institute of CPAs panel, some investor groups, and individual businesses were among those who wrote to FASB urging them to act. The requests were made in response to the FASB’s request for feedback on its long-term agenda. Comments were due on September 22nd.

    “We recommend that the FASB begin a project on accounting for digital assets immediately; waiting until they become pervasive in financial reporting may put the FASB so far behind, they may never catch up,” wrote the Alliance of Concerned Investors.

    The FASB has previously rejected calls to revise accounting standards for Bitcoin, claiming that most companies do not have significant holdings and that if they accept the currency as payment, they immediately convert it to cash. However, some major corporations, such as MicroStrategy and Square, have increased their Bitcoin investments and are not planning to sell.

    MicroStrategy CEO Michael Saylor announced in early September that the company had purchased an additional 5,050 Bitcoin for approximately $242.9 million in cash during the third quarter period.

    MicroStrategy has purchased and held approximately 114,042 Bitcoin since August 2020, for a total purchase price of $3.16 billion and an average price of $27,713 per bitcoin, inclusive of fees and expenses. The company owns more Bitcoin than any other publicly traded company on the planet.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0