• 在气候问题上,比特币矿工获得更多的核交易

  • 比特币(BTC)矿工继续想方设法利用本来会被浪费的多余电力,这次他们与正在挣扎的无碳核电站的运营商握手言和。

    援引 “高管和分析师 “的话说,这可能是一个完美的匹配,因为核电站在来自更便宜的电源的竞争中需要更多的客户,而比特币矿工需要的正是他们所提供的–稳定和无碳的电力。

    此外,这可能是一个特别适合矿工的解决方案,他们继续面临着对其运营的电力消耗和环境影响的反弹。

    根据该报告,俄亥俄州的标准动力采矿中心将在12月开始接受核发电机Energy Harbor Corp.提供的电力。此外,Talen Energy Corp.与比特币采矿公司TeraWulf Inc.成立了一家合资企业。他们已经开始在其位于宾夕法尼亚州的核电站附近进行土地开发,用于建造一个四座足球场大小的采矿设施。

    据报道,新的核项目也对加密货币矿工感兴趣。正如之前报道的那样,Oklo是一家位于加州的开发清洁能源工厂的公司,它在7月宣布与美国的比特币挖矿硬件和主机在线市场Compass Mining建立为期20年的商业合作关系,引入先进的核裂变来补充化石燃料,”促进矿工使用能源的多样性和可持续性”。

    这项协议不包括一个固定的电力价格,但Compass首席执行官Whit Gibbs告诉ULTCOIN365,他相信这些公司将商定一个允许加密货币开采盈利的价格。Oklo联合创始人兼首席执行官Jacob DeWitte表示,他已经收到了其他感兴趣的比特币矿工的询问,但仍然需要联邦批准,而这在2023-2025年之前不太可能发生。

    尽管如此,能源咨询公司Customized Energy Solutions的董事Bill Dugan认为,虽然预计会有更多的 “核-比特币合作”,但它们不太可能大到足以拯救许多核电站,也不可能迅速发生。

    与此同时,市长弗朗西斯-苏亚雷斯正在推动迈阿密成为加密货币矿工、交易所和投资公司的目的地,并引用了佛罗里达电力& Light的核电站。据苏亚雷斯说,已经与这家公司的官员讨论了采矿设施位于核电站附近的可能性,并找到廉价的土地来建造采矿设备的仓库。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• In the midst of climate concerns, Bitcoin miners secure more nuclear deals

  • Bitcoin (BTC) miners continue to find ways to use excess power that would otherwise go to waste, shaking hands this time with operators of struggling, carbon-free nuclear plants.

    Citing “executives and analysts,” this could be a perfect match because nuclear power plants need more customers amid rising competition from cheaper power sources, and Bitcoin miners need exactly what they have to offer – stable and carbon-free power.

    Furthermore, this may be a particularly well-suited solution for the miners, who continue to face backlash over the power consumption and environmental impact of their operations.

    According to the report, the Standard Power mining center in Ohio will begin receiving power from nuclear generator Energy Harbor Corp. in December. In addition, Talen Energy Corp. formed a joint venture with Bitcoin mining company TeraWulf Inc. They have begun land development near its nuclear plant in Pennsylvania for a mining facility the size of four football fields.

    According to reports, new nuclear projects are also interested in cryptocurrency miners. As previously reported, Oklo, a California-based company that develops clean energy plants, announced a 20-year commercial partnership with Compass Mining, a US-based online marketplace for Bitcoin mining hardware and hosting, in July, to introduce advanced nuclear fission to supplement fossil fuels and “promote diversity and sustainability in the energy sources used by miners.”

    This agreement does not include a set price for power, but Compass CEO Whit Gibbs told ULTCOIN365 that he is confident the companies will agree on a price that allows for profitable cryptocurrency mining. Oklo co-founder and CEO Jacob DeWitte said he had received inquiries from other interested Bitcoin miners, but federal approval is still required, and this is unlikely to happen until 2023-2025.

    Nonetheless, Bill Dugan, a director at energy advisory firm Customized Energy Solutions, believes that, while more “nuclear-bitcoin tie-ups” are expected, they are unlikely to be large enough or happen quickly enough to save many nuclear plants.

    Meanwhile, Mayor Francis Suarez is promoting Miami as a destination for cryptocurrency miners, exchanges, and investment firms, citing Florida Power & Light’s nuclear power plant. According to Suarez, there have been discussions with officials from this company about the possibility of mining facilities being located near the nuclear plant and finding cheap land to build warehouses for mining equipment.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0