• 以色列正在开发基于以太坊的数字谢克尔(报道)。

  • 据报道,以色列银行已经启动了一个数字货币试点项目,目标是在以太坊区块链的基础上创建其中央银行数字货币。然而,该项目可能面临一些重大挑战。

    以色列的目标是建立CBDC

    许多领先的国家,包括中国、日本、法国、瑞典和其他国家,多年来一直致力于创建其国家货币的数字化版本。

    据Globes报道,以色列央行已经加入了这一趋势,并正在发行CBDC。该机构选择了以太坊网络来促进这一过渡。以色列银行的CBDC项目经理Yoav Soffer解释了原因。

    “我们用以太坊技术做了一个试验,不是因为我们相信它将成为我们使用的技术,而是因为这是一个可以让我们动手的技术,以了解它的优点和缺点。”

    以色列银行组建了团队,建立了一个基于以太坊区块链的试验环境,并发行了代表CBDC的代币。然后,它创建了数字钱包,团队成员可以通过它在银行内交换 “假想的数字谢克尔”。

    值得注意的是,澳大利亚、香港和泰国在其CBDC项目中使用了同样的方法,以色列也关注了法律、经济和技术方面。

    索弗将该倡议描述为 “困难”。他还提到,由于项目的复杂性,很难给出一个完成日期。

    “以色列银行的项目,一般来说,有开始和结束的日期”。你知道它们什么时候结束,以及你在这一过程中需要完成什么。我们不知道这个项目何时能完成,以及由此带来的一切。”

    问题

    在COVID-19大流行期间,数字支付方式在以色列一直在上升。因此,发行CBDC似乎是一个可行的选择,可以适应社会的新习惯。尽管如此,它也面临着一些困难。

    以色列银行不确定它是否能够创造一个数字版的谢克尔,以满足当地居民的所有需求。此外,这种产品的基础设施似乎还没有准备好长期支持它。

    例如,以色列的顶级金融机构必须在发生紧急情况或网络中断时有一个解决方案,以便人们在网络中断时也能进行交易结算。

    此外,中央银行必须开发一种既方便又比其他支付方式有竞争力的CBDC。否则,以色列人可以简单地使用其他传统方法来结算日常交易。

    最困难的挑战是说服使用现金的人改用数字支付。无论好坏,前者是匿名的,而后者将被政府密切监控,这正是威胁到个人隐私的地方。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• Israel is developing a digital shekel based on Ethereum (Report)

  • According to reports, the Bank of Israel has launched a digital currency pilot program with the goal of creating its central bank digital currency based on the Ethereum blockchain. The project, however, may face some significant challenges.

    Israel Aims for CBDC

    Many leading countries, including China, Japan, France, Sweden, and others, have been working for years to create a digitalized version of their national currency.

    According to Globes, Israel’s central bank has joined the trend and is in the process of issuing a CBDC. The Ethereum network was chosen by the institution to facilitate the transition. The Bank of Israel’s CBDC Project Manager, Yoav Soffer, explained why:

    “We did a trial with Ethereum technology, not because we believe it will be the technology we use, but because it was a technology that was available for us to get our hands dirty with in order to understand its advantages and disadvantages.”

    The Bank of Israel formed teams to establish a trial environment based on the Ethereum blockchain and to issue a token representing CBDCs. It then created digital wallets through which team members could exchange “imaginary digital shekels” within the bank.

    It is worth noting that Australia, Hong Kong, and Thailand used the same methodology in their CBDC projects, and Israel looked at legal, economic, and technological aspects as well.

    Soffer described the initiative as “difficult.” He also mentioned that, due to the project’s complexity, it is difficult to give a completion date:

    “Projects at the Bank of Israel, in general, have start and finish dates.” You know when they’re going to end and what you need to accomplish along the way. We don’t know when this project will be completed, with all that entails.”

    The Problems

    Digital payment methods have been on the rise in Israel during the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result, issuing a CBDC appears to be a viable option that can fit into society’s new habits. Nonetheless, it faces a number of difficulties.

    The Bank of Israel is unsure whether it can create a digital version of the shekel that can meet all of the needs of the local population. Furthermore, the infrastructure for such a product appears to be unprepared to support it in the long run.

    For example, Israel’s top financial institution must have a solution in place in the event of an emergency or a network outage so that people can settle transactions even if the network is down.

    In addition, the central bank must develop a CBDC that is both accessible and competitive in comparison to other forms of payment. Otherwise, Israelis could simply use other traditional methods to settle daily transactions.

    The most difficult challenge of all is convincing people who use cash to switch to digital payments. For better or worse, the former method is anonymous, whereas the latter would be closely monitored by the government, which is exactly what threatens personal privacy.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0