• 已有超过2000万个数字人民币钱包被创建。中国中央银行

  • 中国央行的数字人民币实验正在获得牵引力。

    根据今天发布的一份状况报告,中国人民银行的央行数字货币(CBDC)–一种法定货币的数字对应物–现在有超过2000万个钱包,已经处理了355亿人民币(54亿美元)的交易。

    这种新货币是世界上最大的CBDC计划。它将补充而不是取代普通现金,因为在这个极其多样化的14亿人口的国家,许多人仍然使用纸币。

    然而,可编程的货币有它自己的一套好处,该银行重申他们的新货币包括 “智能合约可编程性”。

    根据中国人民银行的说法,其数字人民币可以用 “不会降低其货币功能的智能合约 “进行编程,并以 “安全和合规 “为基础。根据该银行的说法,由智能合约驱动的数字人民币可能会实现自动支付。

    许多年来,智能合约的可编程性一直是货币设计的一部分。这是该银行在其研究中引用的七个设计品质之一,其中还包括低费用和匿名性。该银行强调,执法部门将 “控制 “匿名性。

    根据该文件,”与传统的电子支付[系统]相比,e-CNY[数字人民币]系统收集的交易信息较少,除非法律法规另有规定,否则不会向第三方或其他政府机构传输信息。”

    银行将建立一个 “防火墙”,以保持匿名性,以及禁止任意的信息要求和执行安全和隐私措施。

    但这与密码学不一样。

    虽然以太坊等加密货币普及了智能合约,但中国的新数字货币与去中心化的加密货币完全不同。由于其 “缺乏内在价值,价格波动剧烈,交易效率低,能源消耗大”,根据人民银行的说法,去中心化货币不能 “用于日常经济活动”。

    根据该文件,加密货币对金融安全和社会稳定构成风险,特别是由私人创建的 “全球稳定币”,以 “解决加密货币相对较大的价格波动问题”。

    稳定币,如Tether和美元,是与法定货币1:1绑定的加密货币。它们在概念上类似于CBDC,但它们不受政府控制。

    中国人民银行的公告是在该行副行长范一飞表示中国官员 “非常关注[稳定币]”并 “采取了某些行动 “来打击它们之后一周发布的。

    他没有说银行采取了什么措施,但他确实说支付系统的进步速度 “令人极为担忧”,而且银行正在打击垄断和 “无序的资本扩张”。

    中国首都北京上个月为其数字人民币举行了一次抽奖活动。居民可能会赢得总额为4000万人民币(620万美元)的奖励基金。

    也许中国的新CBDC与那些空投其货币以引起兴趣的加密货币企业并没有什么不同。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• More Than 20 Million Digital Yuan Wallets Have Been Created: Central Bank of China

  • The Chinese central bank’s digital yuan experiment is gaining traction.

    The People’s Bank of China’s central bank digital currency (CBDC)—a digital counterpart of a fiat currency—now has more than 20 million wallets and has handled 35.5 billion RMB ($5.4 billion) in transactions, according to a status report released today.

    The new currency is the largest CBDC initiative in the world. It will supplement, but not replace, ordinary cash, as many people in the extremely diversified, 1.4 billion-strong country still use paper money.

    However, programmable money has its own set of benefits, and the bank reiterated that their new currency includes “smart contract programmability.”

    According to the PBoC, its digital yuan can be programmed with “smart contracts that do not degrade its monetary function” and is based on “security and compliance.” According to the bank, a smart contact-powered digital yuan might enable automated payments.

    For numerous years, smart contract programmability has been a part of the currency’s design. It’s one of seven design qualities cited by the bank in its research, which also includes low expenses and anonymity. The bank underlined that law enforcement will “control” anonymity.

    According to the paper, “the e-CNY [digital yuan] system collects less transaction information than traditional electronic payment [systems] and does not transfer information to third parties or other government agencies unless specified otherwise in-laws and regulations.”

    The bank would put in place a “firewall” to maintain anonymity, as well as prohibit arbitrary information requests and enforce security and privacy measures.

    But it’s not the same as cryptography.

    While cryptocurrencies like Ethereum popularized smart contracts, China’s new digital currency is nothing like a decentralized cryptocurrency. Due to their “lack of intrinsic value, sharp price swings, low trading efficiencies, and massive energy consumption,” decentralized currencies, according to the PBoC, cannot be “employed in daily economic activity.”

    According to the paper, cryptocurrency poses a risk to financial security and social stability, particularly “global stablecoins” created by private parties to “address the relatively large price fluctuation problem of cryptocurrencies.”

    Stablecoins, such as Tether and USD, are cryptocurrencies that are tied 1:1 to fiat currencies. They’re similar to CBDCs in concept, but they’re not controlled by the government.

    The PBoC announcement comes just a week after Fan Yifei, the bank’s deputy governor, stated that Chinese officials are “very concerned about [stablecoins]” and “have taken certain actions” to combat them.

    He didn’t say what steps the bank has taken, but he did say that the rate of advancement in payment systems is “extremely worrying,” and that the bank is fighting monopolies and “disorderly capital expansion.”

    Beijing, China’s capital city, held a lottery for its digital yuan last month. A total prize fund of 40 million renminbi ($6.2 million) might be won by the inhabitants.

    Perhaps China’s new CBDC isn’t all that dissimilar to crypto ventures that airdrop their currency to generate interest.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0