• 在metaverse重演现实有什么危险?

  • Zilliqa的Sandra Helou写道,新的虚拟世界充满了机会。但是,如果现实世界的问题在元空间中被夸大了呢?

    在尼尔-斯蒂芬森1992年的科幻小说 “雪崩 “中,世界第一次尝到了平行数字宇宙的滋味。早于非风行代币的元空间,近30年来一直是文学和娱乐典范的一部分。在我们考虑作为一个社会的发展方向时,经常被描述为对现实约束的虚拟逃避的元空间,似乎是一个合乎逻辑的下一步。

    我们生活中的很多事情已经在网上发生了–从我们自己在社交媒体平台上的数字表现,到我们依赖网上市场购物的程度–基础设施已经到位了。然而,当项目、初创企业和大公司都在寻求利用元宇宙的趋势时,我们必须停下来问问自己:储存的风险是什么?

    这是真实的生活还是只是一种幻想?

    我们现在正见证着韩国一种新现象的开始。随着房地产价格的上涨,社会经济的不平等,以及冠状病毒大流行所带来的黯淡的职业前景,MZ一代正在冲向元宇宙。买卖地块在元空间中成为一种非常现实的可能性,当与现实世界的货币价值相结合时,它在一个机会并不总是均等的社会中起到了平衡力量的作用。

    MZ一代被定义为自出生以来就在数字连接中长大的年龄组,它包括千禧一代和Z一代。这个新的社会阶层比以往任何时候都更需要处理 “非接触 “经济的现实,因为它涉及到 “非接触 “状态–考虑到要求社会疏远的大流行病的影响,这是很恰当的。

    非接触式是一个概念,它描述了 “在未来,人们越来越多地在网上互动,企业用机器取代人类,以保护自己免受工资上涨和劳动力迅速老化的影响”。韩国已经致力于成为为一个日益分裂的世界开发技术和基础设施的全球领导者。事实上,韩国公民是地球2号和Decentraland等元空间平台上最活跃的用户之一。

    韩国以及其他市场,如菲律宾,其公民涌入虚拟世界,如Axie Infinity提供的虚拟世界,表明持续的结构性不平等是如何促使人们寻求替代方案的。虽然我们还没有进入一个乌托邦式的未来,但催化剂是相似的。人们会想要最大化他们的回报,希望能获得任何可能的收益,这也是我们在数字资产上看到的类似趋势,面对不断上升的通货膨胀、货币贬值和经济不安全。

    数字鸿沟正在扩大。

    同样,在进入元空间时,可能出现的不平等现象又如何呢?关于Facebook进入这一领域,人们已经说了很多,这主要是由其Oculus业务部门实现的。批评者很快就指出,大型科技公司进入元空间只是偏离了互联网在Web 3.0兴起时的核心原则–一个更加分散、公平的在线生态系统。在Facebook的掌舵下,元空间很可能成为另一个将不断扩大的用户数据货币化的机会,同时回归到虚拟世界中存在的监视和问责问题。

    同时,我们在数字鸿沟中已经看到的日益严重的不平等现象可能会在元空间中被放大。当参与沉浸式的、连续的3D景观时,平等地使用相同的工具和基础设施,很可能不仅需要大量的计算能力,还需要高速互联网接入和顶级的耳机。同样,随着广告可能成为资助 “封闭 “或企业支持的元空间的关键组成部分,不平等将由谁能负担得起无广告的元空间或谁的头像质量更高决定?我们是否有可能在富人和穷人之间造成新的鸿沟?

    现在生活的许多方面都在网上进行,包括教育、职业,甚至是约会,因此平整这些进入元气空间的基础设施接入点将是至关重要的。

    矩阵中的一个缺陷

    法国哲学家和社会学家让-鲍德里亚(Jean Baudrillard)创造了 “超现实”(hyperreality)一词,来描述现实和模拟如此交织,以至于我们忽视了两者之间的区别的状态。鲍德里亚认为,模拟的世界最终会比 “真实 “更重要,因为它将是所有意义和价值的来源。会不会有这样一种状态,即我们只想插上电源,类似于MZ一代现在发现在Decentraland炒作房地产能提供更多的满足感?

    如果最终元空间的概念本身成为现实,我们希望元空间以什么为基础?从 “雪崩 “这个警示故事中,我们看到了被大企业利益所统治的城邦的崛起–不平等最终取得了胜利,而元空间反而成了一种虚拟的逃避,一种对现实废墟的理想主义分心。

    作为集体的区块链生态系统,我们有机会创造出真正令人惊奇的东西–无论是NFT项目、玩赚游戏,还是虚拟世界–与世界各地越来越多的程序员和用户体验设计师合作。由于去中心化的意识形态,我们可以创造一个可访问的、公平的、对每个人都有利的元空间,无论他们是谁,无论他们在哪里。让我们不要浪费这个机会;我们不需要从现实中借鉴–我们可以做得更多。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• What are the dangers of reenacting reality in the metaverse?

  • Sandra Helou of Zilliqa writes that new virtual worlds are brimming with opportunities. But what if real-world issues are exaggerated in the metaverse?

    The world got its first taste of a parallel digital universe in Neal Stephenson’s 1992 science fiction novel “Snow Crash.” The metaverse, which predates non-fungible tokens, has been a part of the literary and entertainment canon for nearly 30 years. The metaverse, which is frequently depicted as a virtual escape from the constraints of reality, appears to be a logical next step as we consider where we’re headed as a society.

    With so much of our lives already taking place online — from our own digital representations on social media platforms to the extent to which we rely on online marketplaces to shop for leisure or necessity — the infrastructure is already in place. However, as projects, startups, and large corporations alike seek to capitalize on the metaverse trend, we must pause and ask ourselves: what are the risks in store?

    Is this real life or just a fantasy?

    We are now witnessing the beginnings of a new phenomenon in South Korea. With rising property prices, socioeconomic inequality, and bleak career prospects as a result of the coronavirus pandemic’s devastation, Generation MZ is rushing to the metaverse. Buying and selling plots of land becomes a very real possibility in the metaverse, and when combined with real-world monetary value, it acts as a leveling force in a society where the odds aren’t always even.

    Generation MZ is defined as the age group that has grown up with digital connectivity since birth, and it includes both millennials and Gen Zs. This new segment of society has had to deal with the realities of a “untact” economy more than ever before, as it pertains to a “contactless” state of affairs — appropriate, given the impact of a pandemic that has demanded social distancing.

    Untact is a concept that describes “a future in which people increasingly interact online and businesses replace humans with machines to protect themselves from the effects of rising wages and a rapidly aging workforce.” South Korea has already committed to becoming a global leader in the development of technologies and infrastructure for an increasingly fractured world. Indeed, its citizens are among the most active users on metaverse platforms such as Earth 2 and Decentraland.

    South Korea, as well as other markets such as the Philippines, where citizens have flocked to virtual worlds such as those offered by Axie Infinity, demonstrate how persistent structural inequalities drive people to seek alternatives. Although we are not yet in a dystopian future, the catalysts are similar. People will want to maximize their returns in the hopes of making any gains possible, which is a similar trend we’ve seen with digital assets in the face of rising inflation, currency depreciation, and economic insecurity.

    Digital divides are widening.

    Similarly, what about the inequalities that might arise when it comes to accessing the metaverse? Much has been said about Facebook’s entry into the space, which was largely made possible by its Oculus business unit. Critics have quickly pointed out that the entry of big tech into the metaverse simply detracts from the core tenets of where the internet is already heading in terms of the rise of Web 3.0 — a more decentralized, equitable online ecosystem. With Facebook at the helm, the metaverse is likely to become just another opportunity to monetize ever-expanding swaths of user data while harkening back to the same issues of surveillance and accountability that exist in the virtual world.

    Meanwhile, the growing inequalities that we’ve already seen in the digital divide may be amplified in the metaverse. When engaging in immersive, continuous 3D landscapes, equal access to the same tools and infrastructures will most likely necessitate not only a significant amount of computational power, but also high-speed internet access and top-of-the-line headsets. Similarly, with advertising likely being a key component of funding “closed” or corporate-backed metaverses, will inequality be determined by who can afford an ad-free metaverse or whose avatar is of higher quality? Do we not risk creating a new divide between haves and have-nots?

    With so many aspects of life now being lived online, including education, career, and even dating, it will be critical to level these infrastructural access points to the metaverse.

    A flaw in the matrix

    Jean Baudrillard, a French philosopher and sociologist, coined the term hyperreality to describe a state in which reality and simulation are so intertwined that we lose sight of the distinctions between the two. According to Baudrillard, the simulated world will eventually matter more than the “real,” as it will be the source of all meaning and value. Will there ever be a state in which we only want to be plugged in, similar to how Generation MZ now finds that flipping real estate in Decentraland provides far more satisfaction?

    What do we want the metaverse to be based on if, eventually, the concept of the metaverse becomes reality in and of itself? Looking to “Snow Crash” as a cautionary tale, we see the rise of city-states ruled by the interests of big business — inequality eventually triumphs, and the metaverse instead serves as a virtual escape, an idealistic distraction from reality’s ruins.

    We have the opportunity to create something truly amazing as the collective blockchain ecosystem — whether that’s NFT projects, play-to-earn games, or virtual worlds — in collaboration with a growing number of programmers and UX designers around the world. We can create a metaverse that is accessible, fair, and beneficial to everyone, no matter who they are or where they are, thanks to a decentralization ideology. Let us not squander this opportunity; we don’t need to borrow from reality — we can do more.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0